30 January 2015

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
Publisher:  Knopf     
Publication date: January 6th 2015
My rating: 5 stars

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink. This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

I made a promise to myself about reading more books I find interesting because, you see, I'm an impulsive reader and tend to change my mind in a second. Usually, those 'interesting' books end up destroying me completely which might be the reason why I avoid them in the first place. 

When I first started reading All the Bright Places I was expecting to have my heart broken but at the same time I kept thinking things surely wouldn't go there. I won't reveal the ending because that would just be mean. Read it and find our for yourself. Will it make you cry or smile? 

As someone who's been dealing with depression and bipolar disorder as well as ADHD I could see so much of myself in Finch. He's the side of me I try to hide from my family and friends. In fact, no one in my life doesn't know any of this about me, only the friends I met here, on Goodreads. Finch is impulsive, a true fighter, sensitive, fun and a bit strange. His energy is simply contagious and it made me want to be his friend.  

Violet on the other hand is his total opposite. She after losing her sister in a car accident she retreats into herself, breaks up with her boyfriend and stops hanging around her friends. In a way I thought Violet and Finch were a perfect pair. Like fire and ice. 

Elle Fanning was cast as Violet and you don't even know how much sense that makes. It's like Violet is Elle. Can't wait to see who's going to play Finch. 

I loved the fact this book addresses so many problems teens these days deal with-suicidal thoughts, bullying, abuse, eating disorders... I could list so many reasons why you should read but I feel like the most important one would be- read it because of yourself. Read it because you need to be aware of the hidden world around you. 

This book is more than a book. It sends a message to everyone and to quote the author, her it is 

If you think something is wrong, speak up.
You are not alone.
It is not your fault.
Help is out there.

1 comment:

  1. I totally agree. For me this really resonated with me and became so much more than just 'something I read'. Honestly it stayed with me for days after and sent me into a total slump. I was both depressed and just completely floored!